102 women were elected in local body elections in Nagaland after two decades Latest News India

Kohima: Nagaland made history on Saturday by electing 102 women out of 278 seats in the recently held urban body elections, after two decades of issues and lawsuits over women's quota and property tax. were Eight women won from unreserved seats.

22-year-old Nzanrhoni I Mozhui was the youngest elected member (Credit Image/Government of Nagaland)

The June 26 civic polls were the first since 2004, in which 33 percent reservation for women was implemented.

Your wishes helped India win- Relive India's epic journey in the T20 World Cup. Click here

“Naga women, this is your election. Congratulations!” State Election Commissioner T. John Longcomer said after the election results were announced on Saturday.

Rosemary Dzüvichu, a women's rights activist who spearheaded the issue of women's reservation in Nagaland, acknowledged that the Supreme Court was instrumental in making municipal elections with women's quota possible. It also acknowledged the role of the People's Union of Civil Liberties, which had filed a Public Interest Litigation in the Supreme Court in the matter.

Polling was held on Wednesday for 24 urban local bodies – three municipal councils and 21 town councils – in 10 districts. Out of 2.23 lakh voters, 81% exercised their right to vote.

According to the latest information received late from the SEC, both the youngest and oldest candidates selected overall were women.

The youngest candidate, 22-year-old Nzanrhoni I Mozhui, the Bharatiya Janata Party nominee from Bhandari town council under Wokha district, is glowing with hopes of improving governance. After his win on Saturday, Muzoi said he was grateful to his family and ward members for their faith in him.

Initially, 238 women filed nomination papers, but 23 of them from the eastern region voted for the pending formation of the Autonomous Frontier Nagaland region by the Eastern Nagaland People's Organization (ENPO). K withdrew in the face of calls for a boycott. Six districts with a total of 14 town councils where ENPO has influence did not participate in the elections.

The ruling Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party won the most seats with 153, followed by independents with 56, the BJP with 25 and 44 representing various other political parties.

Get latest information on India News, Budget 2024, Weather Today as well as latest news and top headlines from India and around the world.

Leave a Comment

“The Untold Story: Yung Miami’s Response to Jimmy Butler’s Advances During an NBA Playoff Game” “Unveiling the Secrets: 15 Astonishing Facts About the PGA Championship”