4 seats will be monitored in the fourth phase of elections in West Bengal. Latest News India

The fate of political bigwigs like Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, Dilip Ghosh, Mahva Moitra, SS Ahluwalia in the eight Lok Sabha constituencies of West Bengal is set to be decided as the state goes to polls for the fourth phase on May 13. Polling is being held in Bahrampur, Krishnanagar, Ranaghat, Burdhmanpurba, Burdhman-Durgapur, Asansol, Bolpur and Birbhum in this phase.

Behrampur, Krishnanagar, Ranaghat, Burdhmanpurba, Burdhman-Durgapur, Asansol, Bolpur and Birbhum will go to polls on May 13.

Lok Sabha Election 2024: Complete Coverage

Mehwa Moitra Vs Amrita Roy in Krishnanagar

Unlock exclusive access to the latest news on India's General Elections, only on the HT app. download now! download now!

Mehwa Moitra was expelled from the Lok Sabha in December last year in a bribery scam. She will seek re-election from her Krishnanagar seat and re-entry into Parliament. BJP has fielded Amrita Roy against Mehwa Moitra. Rai belongs to the royal family of Krishnanagar. Her husband, Somesh Chandra Rai, is a descendant of Maharaja Krishna Chandra Rai, after whom Krishnanagar was named.

Krishnanagar has been with Trinamool since 2009.

Lok Sabha Elections 2024 Fourth Phase on May 13: Major Candidates and Constituencies

Adhir Ranjan Cowdhri vs Yusuf Pathan at Bahrampur

One of the reasons for the Trinamool's walkout from the India bloc in West Bengal is the Bahrampur seat — which has been represented in the Lok Sabha by Adhir Chaudhary of the Congress since 1999. According to reports, Mamata Banerjee did not want the seat to go to the Congress and eventually, no seat-sharing agreement was reached between the Congress and the TMC in West Bengal.

Trinamool fielded former cricketer Yusuf Pathan against Adhir.

Lok Sabha Election 2024 Phase 4 Polling: How to Find Your Name in Voter List, Booth Step by Step Guide

Dilip Ghosh v. Keerti Azad in Burdhaman-Durgapur

Dilip Ghosh and Kirti Azad are both new to the constituency held by BJP's SS Ahluwalia who won by a narrow margin in 2019. BJP's Dilip Ghosh will face Trinamool's Kirti Azad. CPM has fielded Skriti Ghoshal from this seat.

Dilip Ghosh is a BJP veteran in Bengal and known for his controversial statements. Former BJP state president, Dilip Ghosh, was once sent to the Andamans to build a base for the party.

Shatrughan Sinha vs SS Ahluwalia in Asansol

SS Ahluwalia is a former Union Minister and two-time Member of Parliament but is new as a candidate in Asansol. On the other hand, Trinamool's Shatrughan Sinha is the current MP as he won the seat in the 2022 by-election after Babul Supriyo resigned from the BJP.

Tell us what your first vote would be in a short video and stand a chance to be featured on HT's social media handles. Click here to learn more!
India News, Election 2024, Lok Sabha Election 2024 Voting Live, Karnataka Election 2024 Live in Bengaluru, Election 2024 date as well as latest news and top headlines from India and around the world.

Leave a Comment

“The Untold Story: Yung Miami’s Response to Jimmy Butler’s Advances During an NBA Playoff Game” “Unveiling the Secrets: 15 Astonishing Facts About the PGA Championship”