Big win for Congress-NC in Ladakh in first bypoll after abrogation of Article 370 | Latest News India

The Congress-National Conference alliance defeated the BJP in the Ladakh Autonomous Hill Council elections in Kargil, the first polls held in Jammu and Kashmir since the abrogation of Article 370 in 2019. The Congress and the National Conference left the BJP far behind. Out of the 22 seats where the results were announced, the Congress won eight, the National Conference won 11, the BJP won only 2 and an independent candidate won one seat.

Paramilitary personnel stand guard outside as the Jammu and Kashmir National Conference (JKNC) and Congress votes are counted.
Paramilitary personnel stand guard outside as the Jammu and Kashmir National Conference (JKNC) and Congress votes are counted.

People’s Democratic Party chief Mehbooba Mufti said that it is a pleasure to see the victory of secular parties like NC and Congress in Kargil. PDP did not contest elections. Mehbooba Mufti posted that she was happy to see secular parties like NC and Congress registering their victory in Kargil. This is the first election since 2019 and the people of Ladakh have spoken,” posted Mehbooba Mufti as early trends show a big win for the alliance.

According to the total voting data of the third round of the 5th LAHDC elections, about 65 percent voter turnout in Kargil district.

Earlier last month, the Ladakh administration announced the new schedule for the fifth LAHDC elections in the Kargil region following the Supreme Court’s directive.

This notification comes after the Supreme Court restored the party symbol of the National Conference for the upcoming elections, setting aside the previous election notification of the Union Territory Administration as the National Conference candidates could not file nominations. were According to the notification, the elections to 26 seats of the 30-member LAHDC were held on October 4.

The present council is chaired by NCK Feroze Ahmad Khan. Congress joined hands with NC before the election and fielded 22 candidates. NC fielded 17. Both parties said the arrangement was limited to areas where there was a close contest with the BJP.

The BJP, which had won one seat in the last election and later increased its tally to three with the addition of two councilors from the PDP, fielded 17 candidates this time. Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) tried its luck on four seats while 25 independent candidates were also in the fray.

Leave a Comment

“The Untold Story: Yung Miami’s Response to Jimmy Butler’s Advances During an NBA Playoff Game” “Unveiling the Secrets: 15 Astonishing Facts About the PGA Championship”