BJP comes out big guns in Madhya Pradesh, trouble for Shivraj Chauhan?

BJP comes out big guns in Madhya Pradesh, trouble for Shivraj Chauhan?

BJP Madhya Pradesh List: So far PM Modi is at the center of BJP’s campaign. (file)


The BJP may be trying to rein in the party’s longest-serving Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, who has not declared his constituency in the second list of candidates for the Madhya Pradesh assembly polls to be released on Monday. is doing The incumbent party, instead, has brought out its biggest guns to manage the whims of senior regional leaders, pulled out as much of its top leadership as possible to consolidate seats where it is weak, and the chief ministerial office. has thrown the race wide open, out of a total of 76 candidates it has released so far. So far, Prime Minister Narendra Modi has been at the center of BJP’s election campaign in the state.

In a surprise move that sent shockwaves through political circles, the party announced it was fielding seven Lok Sabha members, three of whom are Union ministers, and its national general secretary Kailash Vijayvargiya. , hours after PM Modi’s visit to Bhopal. Four of them have been MLAs in the past.

Mr. Vijayvargiya is contesting the state elections in 2013, a decade after winning the Maho seat in his native Indore district for the second time. He will contest from Indore-1 seat. Mr. Tomar will contest the Vidhan Sabha elections after two decades. He last won the assembly election from Gwalior for the second time in a row in 2003.

Three Union Ministers Narendra Singh Tomar, Prahlad Singh Patel and Fagan Singh Kalaste are also in the race.

The ruling party seems to be trying to strike a balance between its various senior regional leaders in the electoral arena, to maximize their experience and influence over certain regions and castes.

By fielding seven sitting MPs, the party not only wants to win weak seats, but also ensures that neighboring seats are also influenced by the continued presence of these seasoned politicians.

Madhya Pradesh Congress chief and former chief minister Kamal Nath said the BJP had “accepted defeat”.

He posted in Hindi on X, “BJP candidate list that belies BJP’s claims of 18.5 years of rule and over 15 years of Shivraji’s growth, sure of BJP’s internal defeat.” Mahar, which claims to be the party of crores of workers.” .

Senior Congress leader Randeep Singh Surjewala went a step further, claiming that it was the Congress’ fear that the BJP had roped in top central leaders to save a “sinking ship” in the state. He alleged that Mr. Chauhan knows that he is going to lose, but he wants to take down these big leaders, who are political rivals, with him.

There are four other Lok Sabha MLAs in the fray — four-time MP Ganesh Singh from Satna seat, who has been fielded from his current seat, second-time MP Riti Pathak from the straight Lok Sabha seat, who has been given a ticket. has gone For the Seshi assembly seat, four-time Jabalpur MP Rakesh Singh, who will contest from Jabalpur-West, and third-time Hoshingabad MP Uday Pratap Singh, who will contest from Gudarwara seat in Narsinghpur district.

Leave a Comment

“The Untold Story: Yung Miami’s Response to Jimmy Butler’s Advances During an NBA Playoff Game” “Unveiling the Secrets: 15 Astonishing Facts About the PGA Championship”