'India were scoring 90 runs but not a century…': Sunil Gavaskar after Rohit Sharma ends 17-year-long wait for T20 World Cup

India's recent heartbreaks are no longer a concern for Rohit Sharma after the Indian captain led his team to the final of the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 against South Africa. Before Rohit and Co ended India's long wait for an ICC title, Virat Kohli's side had to settle for runners-up in two consecutive finals of major tournaments. As the great Sunil Gavaskar pointed out, Team India was losing the nervous 90s by reaching the semi-finals and finals of ICC events.

Gavaskar shared his first reaction after Rohit led India to T20 World Cup win (AFP-ANI)
Gavaskar shared his first reaction after Rohit led India to T20 World Cup win (AFP-ANI)

On Saturday, India crossed the final hurdle with a memorable win over South Africa in the final of the T20 World Cup. Living up to Rohit's expectations, batting icon Kohli saved his best performance for the last as the Indian opener played a match-winning 76 (59) against Aiden Markram's South Africa in the T20 World Cup final played at Kensington Oval. Thanks to Kohli's batting, Rohit's side defeated the Proteas by seven runs.

Also read: India's World Cup heroes stranded in Barbados; BCCI's Jay Shah reacts as Cyclone Beryl gets more severe

Gavaskar relieved as Rohit ends World Cup drought

Reflecting on India's World Cup triumph, batting legend Gavaskar said winning the T20 title on Caribbean soil is like finally scoring a century for the Rahul Dravid-coached side. “It's a great win after such a long time. Earlier, I kept saying India were scoring 90 runs but not able to score a century as they were reaching the semi-finals and finals. Now, they have scored a century and what a great century it is,” Gavaskar told the news agency PTI.

Under Rohit's captaincy, India became the first team to win the Men's T20 World Cup without losing a single match. Rohit is the second Indian captain to win the ICC T20 World Cup title after MS Dhoni. India also ended South Africa's undefeated campaign by defeating the Proteas in a thrilling final over. Opener Kohli was named Player of the Match while fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah received the Player of the Tournament award.

Do you know?

Veteran opener Rohit has become the first player to win the T20 World Cup as both a player (2007) and captain (2024). After leading India to victory in the World Cup, captain Rohit announced his retirement from T20I along with Kohli. A day after India's World Cup win, veteran all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja also retired from T20I cricket. On Monday, the International Cricket Council picked six Indians for the team of the tournament.

Leave a Comment

“The Untold Story: Yung Miami’s Response to Jimmy Butler’s Advances During an NBA Playoff Game” “Unveiling the Secrets: 15 Astonishing Facts About the PGA Championship”