Lok Sabha Elections: Voting continues amid tight security in Srinagar.

Srinagar, May 13: Voting is underway for the Srinagar Lok Sabha constituency in the first parliamentary elections in the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir after the abrogation of Article 370.

A large number of voters queued up outside polling booths in Pulwama and Ganderbal since morning to cast their votes.

Mehraj Ahmad, a voter standing outside a polling booth in Pulwama to cast his vote, told ANI, “I want to convey a message to the youth. It is important to cast your vote this time. You have to show the power of the vote. There should be 100 percent voting.

“We are left behind because we don't vote. We boycotted the last elections. We never understood the power of our vote. But people have learned its value. I appeal to all the youth to cast their votes. Don't waste your valuable vote.

In Srinagar, People's Democratic Party candidate Waheedur Rahman Para is competing against Jammu and Kashmir National Conference's Agha Syed Ruhollah Mehdi. This seat has been represented by three generations of Abdullahs.

Faced with boycott calls and strikes, the 2019 Lok Sabha elections in Srinagar saw a low voter turnout of 15.6 percent.

Naveed, who cast his vote for the first time in the Lok Sabha elections, told ANI, “I wish there was bulk voting. India is a democratic country. We want mass participation. Youth vote and form our government.” “Make your own institutions. It's important for everyone to come out and vote because things are normal.”

Congress has allied with National Conference and is supporting its candidate on the seats while BJP has not fielded its candidate for this seat. JK has been under Union government since the fall of the PDP-BJP government in June 2018, with the last assembly elections held in 2014.

Voting is going on in five phases in Jammu and Kashmir. In the 2019 elections, the BJP won three seats, while the National Conference won the remaining three. PDP and NC have decided to contest the Lok Sabha elections in Jammu and Kashmir alone despite being allies in the opposition alliance India Bloc.

The 2024 Lok Sabha elections are being held in seven phases from April 19 to June 1. Counting of votes and results will be announced on June 4.

Leave a Comment

“The Untold Story: Yung Miami’s Response to Jimmy Butler’s Advances During an NBA Playoff Game” “Unveiling the Secrets: 15 Astonishing Facts About the PGA Championship”