PM Modi on Bihar from NDTV

BJP is contesting elections from 17 Lok Sabha constituencies in Bihar this time.


Prime Minister Narendra Modi, while holding a road show with NDA ally and Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar in Patna, has expressed confidence that the ruling alliance will do even better in the state than the 2019 Lok Sabha polls. And he can win the only constituency he lost. for the last time.

Speaking exclusively to NDTV during the roadshow on Sunday, the prime minister predicted a clean sweep for the alliance in Bihar and said in Hindi, “I have spoken to our allies in Bihar. We ( (in 2019) lost a seat and we may not lose even one this time.”

Stating that he has strong ties with the state and its people, PM Modi said, “I have come here often for organizational work and visited different parts of the state. I have a very old connection here. ”

The Prime Minister said that he has visited almost every state and is determined to ensure that the BJP and NDA achieve their target of winning over 400 seats across the country.

“Bihar has imbued this determination with new colors. It has given it new strength. The atmosphere of the entire country is reflected in Bihar as well,” he said.

Bihar will be important for both the NDA and the India Alliance as, at 40, it sends the fourth-highest number of MPs to the Lok Sabha. Earlier this year, the opposition coalition suffered a jolt after Bihar Chief Minister and Janata Dal United chief Nitish Kumar switched sides once again and returned to the NDA.

In the 2019 elections, the BJP and Janata Dal United contested 17 seats each while the undivided Lok Jan Shakti Party contested six seats. BJP and LJP won all their quota seats while Nitish Kumar's JDU lost one seat. Kishanganj constituency was won by Congress and Lalu Yadav's Rashtriya Janata Dal got empty handed.

In the seat-sharing arrangements for this year's elections, the BJP has the upper hand and is contesting 17 seats while the JDU has bagged 16 seats. Chirag Paswan's Lok Jan Shakti Party (Ram Vilas) has been allotted five seats and Jitan Ram Manjhi's Bharatiya Awam Morcha. (HAM) and Upendra Kushwaha's Rashtriya Lok Morcha will contest one seat each.

The Mahagathbandhan (Grand Alliance), the opposition alliance in Bihar which is also part of the Indian Alliance at the Centre, gave the majority of seats – 26 – to the RJD. Congress will contest nine seats, CPI(ML) three and CPI and CPM one each.

Leave a Comment

“The Untold Story: Yung Miami’s Response to Jimmy Butler’s Advances During an NBA Playoff Game” “Unveiling the Secrets: 15 Astonishing Facts About the PGA Championship”