Record voter turnout in first LS election in Srinagar after abrogation of Article 370 | India News

Srinagar: Reproduced. Srinagar Lok Sabha Constituency Monday recorded a voter turnout of 37.98%, the highest since the 1996 elections, in the first general election since the abrogation of Article 370. In 1996, it was 40.94%, but fell to 30.06% in 1998.
After delimitation, the election battle for the LS seat comprising 21 assembly constituencies is a three-way contest with National Conference's Agha Roohullah, who is supported by the Congress. Waheed Para of Mehbooba Mufti-led PDP; and Muhammad Ashraf Mir of Altaf Bukhari's JK own party, supported by Sajjad Lone's JK People's Conference.
Although the BJP did not field a candidate on any of the three LS seats in the Kashmir region for the first time in three decades, the NC and PDPJ's own party and the JK People's Conference were called the saffron party's “proxy”. See as
EC officials said the turnout was 46.60% in Chadora assembly constituency, 53.23% in Charar Sharif, 46.81% in Ganderbal, Kangan (ST)-55.55%, 48.5% in Khan Sahib, 39.25% in Pulwama, and 45.04% in Shopian. Recorded.
Elections to the constituency, once infamous for threats from terrorist organizations and alleged rigging, drew a mixed response from voters, with the abrogation of Article 370 and development of the region being the deciding factors.
Several exiled Kashmiri Pandits were seen waiting their turn at a special polling booth in Jammu. “I have voted for our permanent return to the Kashmir Valley in an atmosphere of peace and security,” said Shri Krishna Kao, in his late 40s, at the Jagati camp in Nagrota, Jammu.
His daughter, Rashi Kao, a first-time voter, said, “I voted to be a part of democracy. I also want the central government to empower the exiled community economically and create jobs in the Valley. Create opportunities so that the youth can engage in this work.
52,100 Kashmiri migrants are registered as voters in Srinagar seat. The EC allowed Kashmiri migrants living in relief camps in Delhi, Jammu and Udhampur to cast their votes through postal ballots or in person at 26 designated special polling booths: 21 in Jammu, 4 in Delhi, and 4 in Udhampur. 1.
“I voted to express my feelings,” said Kamran Ayub in Srinagar. People should vote to tell the world whether they are happy with the abrogation of Article 370.
“We don't want the BJP and its allies to represent us in Parliament to end the special status of Jammu and Kashmir,” said Abdul Qayyum Dar, 60, from Batapura in Rajpura assembly constituency.
Ganderbal's Gulzar Ahmad Dar said he was supporting Ghulam Nabi Azad's DPAP in NCgarh. His wife, Rafiqa Akhtar, said, “The NC did nothing for Ganderbal, that's why Abdullah did not contest from Srinagar.”
NC chief and former chief minister Farooq Abdullah won the seat in 2019.
A section of youth expressed doubts about the impact of their vote. First-time voter Ghazala Mir said, “No one in my family has voted. I don't think I will vote either. We don't want false promises.”
(With inputs from Deepak Dash in New Delhi and Sanjay Khajuria in Jammu)

Leave a Comment

“The Untold Story: Yung Miami’s Response to Jimmy Butler’s Advances During an NBA Playoff Game” “Unveiling the Secrets: 15 Astonishing Facts About the PGA Championship”