Virat Kohli created 'ICC Trophy history', made a record that even MS Dhoni could not make

Cricket has come full circle for Virat Kohli, who finally added the ICC T20 World Cup title to his kitty, having earlier won the ODI World Cup (2011), Champions Trophy (2013) and Under-19 World Cup (2008). His place in India's T20 team was constantly being questioned, but Kohli made the most of the opportunity by scoring a match-winning half-century against South Africa in the final of the T20 World Cup 2024. Kohli's 76 off 59 balls helped India post a strong total of 176, which Rohit Sharma's side successfully defended.

Kohli, one of the most successful players in the history of the game, won the T20 World Cup title for the first time in his career and thus completed a unique quadruple streak of ICC trophies, which even the great MS Dhoni had been unable to achieve.

Dhoni is one of the few players to have won all three ICC white-ball trophies (ODI World Cup, T20 World Cup and Champions Trophy) but even he has not won the Under-19 World Cup title.

By adding the T20 World Cup trophy to his cabinet, Kohli has won all 4 white-ball ICC titles a player can win in his career, a feat equalled only by Yuvraj Singh in the world, albeit in a slightly different manner

Yuvraj won the ICC Champions Trophy in 2002 (India were joint winners with Sri Lanka), while also winning the Under-19 World Cup in 2000, the T20 World Cup in 2007 and the ODI World Cup in 2011.

However, Virat won all four titles while Yuvraj shared the Champions Trophy.

The only trophy missing from Virat's collection is the Test Championship. Kohli has been a part of the ICC Test Championship final twice in his career, but India had to face defeat on both occasions. The charismatic batsman will hope to complete his cricket by winning the WTC title wearing the white jersey of Team India.

Topics mentioned in this article

Leave a Comment

“The Untold Story: Yung Miami’s Response to Jimmy Butler’s Advances During an NBA Playoff Game” “Unveiling the Secrets: 15 Astonishing Facts About the PGA Championship”